When Diet Just Doesn’t Do The Trick for Acne (And When It Kind Of Does)


Acne Diet

I’ll try to make this post brief, though I can probably go on forever.

I have tried EVERY diet.  I’ve been vegan, raw, pescatarian, paleo, and vegetarian.  I’ve followed the Body Ecology Diet, PINK Method, Beauty Detox Diet, Zone Diet, 10 Week Transformation, Clear Skin Prescription, and several version of the Candida Diet (these people just can’t agree about what keeps the yeasties away).  I’ve done the Master Cleanse (worst idea ever) and had a colonic (not the worst idea ever…) among other cleansing techniques.  I’ve gone all organic, no sugar (not even fruit), no caffeine, no legumes, no starches, no oil, no chocolate (yikes!), no gluten, no alcohol, no dairy, no random things that the candida diet won’t let you have (I mean, no tomatoes or brown rice – really?!) and basically no FUN.

And you know what?  I still have acne.

At some point I need to realize that diet just won’t cut it!  It is clear to me there is something going on in my body that cannot be controlled by what I eat.  THAT is a scary thought.  I feel POWERLESS.

I know I’m not the only acne sufferer that has spent hours nose-deep on google and discovered that they have twelve different dis-eases and that there are 14 thousand different ways to cure all of them.  I’m convinced I have candida, leaky gut, adrenal fatigue, insulin resistance and PCOS.  But…I haven’t actually been tested.

So, rather than feel overwhelmed and hopeless and start attempting to follow every diet recommended for all of the above diagnoses (which would leave me eating nothing but celery sticks and chia all day) I am going to take the plunge to get tested.  It’s time I stop living in fear of the unknown and creating my own hopeless future because I have no idea how to treat an unknown dis-ease.  THIS is how I can take back my POWER.

In the meantime, I plan on using a little tried and true common sense when it comes to my diet.  I know that no matter what dis-ease I may or may not have sugar, dairy, soy and gluten are not going to help.   I am making vegetables the star on my plate and will be sure to drink plenty of water throughout the day.  That, to me, is a common sense diet.  It’s not too restrictive (maybe it sounds like it, but this is coming from a girl who lived off of nothing but kale and quinoa for weeks) and can only help my situation.  Plus, I can still eat THESE Chewy Chocolate Cookies (how good do those look?!).

The truth is, acne can be complicated and sometimes diet just won’t cut it.  Rather than allowing this news to spin my life out of control, I am doing my best to remain optimistic and get down to the bottom of it.  And in the meantime, the best thing I can do is stay healthy, balanced and empowered.

Affirmation: I am powerful and fearless.

P.S. I have three “likes” on my posts!!  Are people in web-land really hanging out here?  Yippee and welcome!  Feel free to say hello and share your thoughts.

30 responses to “When Diet Just Doesn’t Do The Trick for Acne (And When It Kind Of Does)

  1. Everything is very open with a precise clarification of the issues.
    It was truly informative. Your website is very helpful. Many thanks for sharing!

  2. Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was
    super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your
    blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips and hints for inexperienced blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

    • Hi Leadership Development! I’m definitely intrigued by your title and will have to check out your site. Sorry my blog at your comment! I guess it was hungry.

      I’m SO flattered by what you wrote. My writing tip is: Don’t write because you think you have to. Write because it’s about to spill out of you.

      I’ve been sitting on the idea of a new post for a few days now – piecing the thoughts together in my head. It’s a big, slightly embarrassing post, so I’m taking the time to really think it through before I sit down to spell it out. Stay tuned for that one ;)

      Can’t wait to check out your site! And of course, let me know how I can continue to support you on the blogosphere. I feel like we are all in this together!!

  3. 63194 571367I actually like your writing style, excellent information , thankyou for putting up : D. 719704

  4. Hey there would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with? I’m planning to
    start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a hard time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something
    completely unique. P.S Apologies for being off-topic but
    I had to ask!

  5. Hi there! This is kind of off topic but I need some
    guidance from an established blog. Is it difficult to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any points or suggestions? Many thanks

  6. Pingback: rain forest info

  7. 119934 815048It is difficult to get knowledgeable men and women with this subject, but the truth is could be seen as do you know what you are referring to! Thanks 542106

  8. 723665 474552I believe this internet web site has some rattling great information for everybody : D. 668778

  9. 645111 59008Thank you for your amazing post! It has long been quite insightful. I hope that you will continue sharing your wisdom with us. 789161

  10. 923978 738026This is going to be a terrific internet internet site, will you be involved in performing an interview regarding how you developed it? If so e-mail me! 592889

  11. 567262 713669Nice website, nice and simple on the eyes and fantastic content too. Do you require numerous drafts to make a post? 617532

  12. 707237 185328I was wondering if you ever considered changing the page layout of your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two images. Maybe you could space it out better? 772340

    • Great suggestion House Plans! I just added a few more photos to my most recent blog. People love looking at pretty pictures. It’s true. And I like to cater to you. Stay tuned for even more fun with media – perhaps a video blog soon?! If I can just work up the courage I will do one…wish me luck!

  13. 461309 70964The the next occasion I read a weblog, I truly hope so it doesnt disappoint me around brussels. Come on, man, Yes, it was my option to read, but I just thought youd have some thing fascinating to state. All I hear can be lots of whining about something that you could fix in the event you werent too busy searching for attention. 747610

  14. 398903 338043You got a really superb site, Glad I noticed it by means of yahoo. 786690

  15. 107565 693313great . Thanks for informations . Ill be back. Thanks again 539381

  16. 342561 788050Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn anything like this before. So good to locate any person with some authentic thoughts on this topic. realy thank you for starting this up. this site is something that is wanted on the internet, someone with a bit bit originality. valuable job for bringing something new towards the internet! 947067

  17. Bunny

    Wow, spam robots really do love you! I promise I’m not a robot but reading your blog I feel like you might just be my soul mate, its basically the story of my life… I’m somewhat hesitant to write about the bane of my life in a public comment but is there another way I can contact you for story and hopefully knowledge sharing? (: Bunny

Please Share Your Thoughts, Questions or Affirmations Below :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

